Decisions, decisions

I came across two really fun, rather large necklaces who’s owners have passed and their husbands are looking to let go. They are both going for the same asking price which makes deciding even harder. I have no background info on either of them, so the pictures will have to do the talking. Given the two, which would be the better choice?

Necklace #1 looks to possibly be a boulder or royston type of turquoise. The boarder of each 2"x1" stone has a very thin rope boarder and scroll work. Maybe it’s Mexican? It has an “F” stamped on the back as well as a “S over K” and an “Ligua” ?? scribed on the back. The style of bead changes halfway up the necklace so not sure if top ones are original.

Necklace #2 has very pretty blue stones with an irony looking background and a few shiny spots. I wonder what kind of turquoise it could be. They are 1.5" x 2" pieces. There are no hallmarks or scribing on the back. The large silver feathers add interest and go over the top of the beads. I’m not sure if they were an afterthought? They loop over the foxtail chain and could be easily removed. The simplicity of the rain drops on this one appeals to me.

I’d love to hear any insights you may have into the mystique of either of these necklaces. Thank you in advance for your help and expertise!

9 Likes

I don’t really have any insight other than I like the second one best. And I think I personally would like it best without the leaves, because I like the simplicity of it. But which one are you drawn to?

That’s a lot of turquoise going on, amazing!

2 Likes

They both lovely, and I agree with @Ziacat on the 2nd necklace, and without the leaves also (they’re lovely, but…).

3 Likes