Any thoughts on what mine this turquoise is from? I purchased it 30 years ago in Yellowstone, and it was old pawn, then

2 Likes

Has a Royal Blue Royston Turquoise look.

Thank you! I am new to this, but that was my guess. I am figuring out that I am partial to the earthy look of Royston!

I love it and it’s vintage feel! Did you get it at the little “Fred Harvey Trading Company” shop that was in the Old Faithful Lodge…? I got a Dishta-type ring there about 20 years ago :).

9 Likes

I love both the pendant and the ring! I haven’t been to Yellowstone since 92; I think I did go in the Fred Harvey shop there, but I don’t remember buying anything. I have so many Fred Harvey hotel/shop memories from family travels. There is also an excellent Fred Harvey book by Stephen Fried called Appetite For America if you are interested in history. I did buy a really lovely ring in Jackson Hole on that trip.

2 Likes

Great looking ring! I’m going with Zuni and Blue Gem turquoise.

4 Likes

I actually worked at the Native American jewelry counter at the Hamilton store on Yellowstone Lake. I don’t even know if they have one anymore, since it was a little over 30 years ago! I worked in National parks during my summers off from college. I LOVE the ring!

3 Likes

Bonus for the Fred Harvey box :clap:

4 Likes

Yes! I love that book! I know the little shop in YNP said it was “dead pawn”…they said all of it was dead pawn. Even though I didn’t know what that was at the time, it seemed like a marketing ploy. The ring is super nice, though! Vacation memories…

2 Likes

I worked at a dude ranch in Sunlight Basin in college…right next to YNP as the bird flies. Then I worked doing visitor experience research a few years ago. It is a killer commute everyday, right? I think they still try to get a good variety of NA jewelry in their gift shops, they are just contemporary artists these days.

2 Likes