CB Hallmark and signed Chester Guerra?

I have a Navajo squash blossom necklace, purchased in a NM pawn shop. Vintage 1970’s. It is stamped CG and the name Chester Guerra is engraved in script (hand written) on the back of the naja. Is anyone familiar with this artist/name? Is Guerra a Navajo surname?

thank you.

Hi again,
Updating my original post with a few pics to help with the mystery!.
The initials on the lower corner of the naja are CG, not CB.
The inscribed full name “Chester Guerra” (or Guerro?) is on either side of the beads at top of the naja.
I’m by no means an expert, but I’ve never come across a Navajo piece where the artist signed his full name in addition to a hallmark…
And is anyone aware of any Native Americans with the name Guerra/o in the New Mexico area?
Looking closely at the opposite bottom corner, there’s a splatter of silver, which is curious… (covering up an original Hallmark?) Not trying to be dramatic, just would love to know the provenance of my beautiful necklace!

Finally, can anyone take a guess at the origin of the turquoise?

thanks again.

2 Likes

I was going to quickly reply that I didn’t believe that to be a Navajo name. However, I went to Hougart’s hallmark book to verify and that is where I found several Guerro artists. I didn’t come across a Chester Guerro, but these books are never complete. I think you have the artist hallmark and full name on your piece. It is a beautiful necklace. The stone looks to be Morenci.

3 Likes

Jason,
Thanks so much for your research and reply. I would love the necklace either way, but I’m thrilled that it’s been validated and Morenci turquoise, wow!

One more question, if I may. Do you think the beads are bench or handmade? The seam is visible, but not as prominent or “puffy” as I’ve seen on bench beads.
Thanks again!

2 Likes

The beads are handmade.

2 Likes

Hi Jason,