"Comanche Dancer" Bolo by Eldred Martinez

Another of those “it just called out to me” pieces. I’m still studying on who Eldred Martinez is, The work seems excellent. Anyone else collect this persons work? 4-3/8" x 1-3/4" and 42 g. Ok, lots of pictures.

A face book page entitled “The Jewelry of Eldred Martinez” where you can see this same piece along with others.

11 Likes

That piece is stunning! A real work of art.

1 Like

And it’s pretty darn big. Here is a Morgan dollar for scale

3 Likes

Simply stunning, I’ve never seen anything like it. Congrats on a great acquisition.

He makes some great pieces. His butterfly maidens are really popular and have this same combination of etched stones along with smooth inlaid pieces.

7 Likes

He is very talented. I will get more if I can, and can afford.:wink:

Eldred is Zuni and lives in Zuni, NM. He is a quiet, unassuming man. I have gotten to spend time with him and I have a large collection of his work. He is one of my favorite contemporary artists.

2 Likes

Yes, I’m getting that from him and his granddaughter, who helps with his Facebook page, where we’ve interacted some. As I’ve become more educated in the technicality of inlay work, that is, to really look at the spaces between the stones and the channels and are there any gaps and/or fillers, Things like that and not so much the overall look of the piece at arms length. With that sort of eye, Eldred’s work quickly rose to the top. I would love to see a piece or two of yours that you consider your favorites. :star_struck: Have a great new year everyone!!!

3 Likes

the lower part of the costume, in pic 2, is that fordite? gorgeous piece!

@Jemez I think it’s rainbow calsilica

That’s a new one for me!! Thanks!

1 Like

Yes…rainbow calsilica. I had to go look it up when I got it.

1 Like

I found this today. EDIT: Never mind, the link worked for 1 day

1 Like

Stunning! Imagine the time each piece takes.whew… Love this.
Great find @AC!

1 Like