Could it be Number 8?

This afternoon i saw a turquoise tab necklace online and thought wait, that looks just like my necklace.
A reputable store had it and they called it “Vintage Number 8 Turquoise Santo Domingo Necklace”. I had stopped wondering about what kind of turquoise my necklace might be and have been simply wearing and enjoying it, but now curiosity is starting to get the better of me again. Could it be a match?

5 Likes

They do look similar…Which is which?

3 Likes

Ah excuse me, the left one is the photo that i saw online

1 Like

@Bluegreen The style & turquoise in these pretty necklaces looks similar to me, too. I’m a bit puzzled, though. I have a couple of rings with #8 turquoise and it looks different than these necklaces. Just wondering if the necklaces could be Hubei turquoise. I’m not an expert on turquoise so just sharing my thoughts.

2 Likes

I agree with you, i think some of the green tints and dark matrix resemble Hubei turquoise colours.

Late yesterday night i saw another vintage #8 tab necklace online that i thought looked similar (pictured below on the left):

and tried a matrix comparison

Then when i thought i almost had it figured out, i started looking at more turquoise mines and suddenly they all looked the same lol. I know this is probably all a waste of time, but i must confess that i do enjoy researching and mixing and matching photos trying to figure things out.

2 Likes