Fred Harvey era or repro?

A friend of mine has this bracelet and we’ve been debating whether it is truly Fred Harvey era or possibly a reproduction. I don’t own any Fred Harvey pieces so I’m no expert. But because they were tourist pieces, they may not have been the best quality??? If anyone cares to help settle our bet, I’d really appreciate it. An Impossible Burger is on the line here! Lol Thanks everyone!

1 Like

It is always a little confusing the terminology, I think of this as Fred Harvey era start of 1900s to mid 1900s. I don’t believe it to be a Fred Harvey piece, this work seems a little more complicated than what we think of a Fred Harvey creation. Hope that helps and someone gets that tasty impossible burger.

3 Likes

To me it looks pretty new. Not much wearing on the silver.

4 Likes

Hope you were the one betting on a reproduction. Either way, enjoy the burger!

I say reproduction. This isn’t typical of Harvey style or look. The stamping is too different and too deep, black, and crisp and the cutouts and design elements aren’t of the Harvey look at all. Additionally, the rails are so shiny and new…and again not typical of Harvey pressed sheet metal construction.

2 Likes

Harvey Era is a treasured commodity! To this day it is my number one seller. Your piece looks like you both get a burger to me. Entertain the idea that this could be both. This could be a creation using an older piece of jewelry and repurposing it into a new cuff. It might be worth looking at the old catalogs online and see if you can identify the arrow and whirling logs. I reckon there is a 30% chance this could be a composition. Pay particular attention to the arrows around the whirling logs. Notice how they are not evenly spaced? If this was run through an old stamping machine you will see that offset again.

Thank you all for your input! @Christibo I appreciate your thought of a combo piece as well. I say we both get the impossible burgers but I get fries with mine! Lol