Help authenticating Squash Blossom necklace

Hello! Glad to have found this website. I’ve always wanted a squash blossom necklace and for Christmas I was lucky enough to receive one. I’m a bit concerned that my fiancé may have purchased a fancy piece of costume jewelry at the price of an authentic necklace.

The big giveaway is the clasp, it’s obviously not authentic. But perhaps the necklace was restrung and that clasp added?

The beads and bezels are not magnetic but I don’t have any other way of testing to see if it’s sterling.

The stones look real but I don’t know how to tell if they are real turquoise. Strange thing, they are magnetic on the front of the stone but the metal on the back is not magnetic.

The necklace feels light to me but again, I’m not sure how much it should weigh.

Any insight would be much appreciated.

Thanks!!

5 Likes

Welcome to the site!

I am not an expert, especially on squashes, but I agree the turquoise looks real; I can’t tell if it’s stabilized. I noticed the clasp also, but I had a necklace repaired that now has a different type clasp than the original. If you wait, there should be others with way more experience than me joining in this conversation.

I don’t see any hallmarks; is that correct? That doesn’t mean it’s not real, just can help.

2 Likes

Being magnetic on the front of the stone I believe would indicate it’s age is more recent when they started using a backing on stabilized turquoise as a base to make it possible to shape and polish the stone. Does not make it fake by any means. As Ziacat said - there will be more answers from more knowledgeable people than myself.

3 Likes

@Ziacat Thanks for your insight. You are correct, there are no markings that I could find on the necklace.

1 Like

turquoise is sometimes given a backing for added strength & height to give it depth for bezel settings.
one of the products some lapidaries use is a product by Devcon called Liquid Steel.