Help identifying possible Lander Blue Cabachon

Hello! I posted my intro a few months ago and hit a crazy spot in my life. Not bad, just CRAZY, lol! I’m just now able to get back on here and reply etc. If I left ya hanging, I’m sorry and don’t take it personal. On to the topic of the day. I have had this turquoise cabachon since I was 5 years old. I only remember that because I missed kindergarten that day and went yard sale shopping with my grandparents. This would have been in 1992, so I’ve had this cab for 27 years myself! It was glued to a small board with other stones and the board was marked “Lander County NV”. I fell in love with the display and my grandpa bought it for me. I have no other background info. I kept the display for years and eventually removed the different stones and now I am left with only the prettiest one… the turquoise. I will admit I kind of forgot about this particular stone. It was locked in my oldest lockbox with one other large turquoise I pulled from a broken piece of jewelry about 8 years ago. I pulled these out today and started thinking, is this a piece of highly coveted Lander Blue turquoise? I had never really understood that this could be special. I don’t know if there is some way to tell for sure? My research shows a lot of similiar looking turquoise, but I’m no pro. This stone is quite beautiful and weighs 37 carats. I feel it could stand to be polished further by a lapidary, but it is a beautiful older stone as is. I appreciate any opinions on this stone. I like to ID the turquoise I use in my jewelry when possible and I’d love to work with some Lander Blue! I hope the pics are sufficient, I can take more if it would Help! I appreciate any opinions or further information.

Jim Brown
Bonez Customs and Collectables
@bonezcustoms on IG

2 Likes

Had you not provided any background info, I would have confidently said this is Chinese turquoise.

1 Like