Help in identification of these pieces, Andrew Dewa?

Greetings,
I have a couple pieces signed AD. One is a bolo and the other a matching buckle. The books I have indicate these to be made by Andrew Dewa. But I cannot find any of his work that looks like these.
Does anyone have any suggestions?
I am new to this.
Thanks

2 Likes

There are two eBay items that look like this for sale by the same seller, attributed to Andrew Dewa

Unless you’re that seller? :wink:

That would be correct. I have had a collector contact me stating he thought it was from a Dishta family member.
I cannot find a Dishta that hallmarks their work AD.
I want to be correct in what I am offering.

Maybe they are thinking of Charlotte Dishta? From Google search, looks like “C. Dishta” is her hallmark.

I will check out her work. This set that I have is old. I bought it from an estate sale and was told that the original owner had this custom made.
Do you know of any good books on Zuni jewelry?
Thanks!

1 Like

From my mother, I got a 3-volume set published in 1975, “Zuni: The Art and the People.” I forgot we had it but found it on a visit to her house. The photographs are wonderful, but they usually don’t depict hallmarks. I think I read in the book that the artists who cooperated to help with the book didn’t want their hallmarks reproduced, fearing forgery. It’s a great book but of course it’s a snapshot in time, and not all-inclusive.

I am still learning myself. Others can probably recommend excellent books on Zuni Work. I believe there is a Japanese author who’s written a series. I have looked at those on Amazon & eBay but haven’t made the investment yet.

1 Like