Help - is this handmade/real turquoise?

This was advertised as handmade and turquoise, not entirely sure that is accurate. New to collecting - any help is appreciated! Thank you

1 Like

Same as (basically identical to) the previous necklace you posted, in terms of it being manufactured goods.

Could you share a link to where these came from? It can be educational and helpful to see what the original source’s comments were.

1 Like

Thank you! Here is how it was advertised: This is a Native American Navajo Handmade Sterling Silver Turquoise Necklace & Post Earring’s Set. Necklace length: 22.00"

Other than that - no other information. Looking to get collective feedback that is was misrepresented.

1 Like

I’m no expert, just have looked at a lot of Native American jewelry in person as vs. online. This doesn’t have the feel of real at all. I’m assuming the backs of the silver leaf shaped pieces look the same as the other one you posted. Could it be one that was Native assembled with machine made parts? I notice it’s says “native made” vs. “native hand crafted.” My understanding is that hand crafted means made by hand, compared with being strung with machine made parts. Not sure I am remembering that correctly.

3 Likes

looks like they came from “live auctioneers” https://www.liveauctioneers.com/en-gb/item/104492343_native-american-navajo-handmade-sterling-silver

I’m not seeing anything that says Native American to me, or handmade. The stones may be real - i do see some color change and matrix that might be legit, but idk. also - the patina/color on teh chain is different from the spincast beads/leafy bits, and it looks like they are joined with inexpensive beadalon wire and crimps.

Thank you for the info on the stones and the wire. I thought the wire was suspect, but the turquoise I’m still up in the air about…