Help wanted for this gorgeous old? ring please

Hi there, I was wondering if anybody can help me identify this ring which seems to be extremely old, but that may apear cause of the scratching and bended wobbly band?

Also the stone (anyone knows what kind of turuqoise it is, sleeping beauty?) seems to be filled up at the sides with something, which was probably done because this is such a gorgeous ring and stone it would be a total waste scrapping it.

Does anyone know what period of time it would com from? (is is only signed Sterling)

I hope to hear from you, thanks for thinking along!

Kindest regards, Ester.

I don’t think it’s filled-in on the sides. If it’s black, that may very well be the backing on the turquoise cabochon. Stones typically are backed after they are shaped to give them greater strength, since turquoise is a relatively soft stone.

I’m not good at identifying types of turquoise, as I have a question about this myself in the forum. But I don’t connect this ring with Sleeping Beauty. It’s too dark and has dark matrix. The best Sleeping Beauty is more like a shining light blue with depths to it, closer to a bird’s egg. That doesn’t mean this isn’t desirable turquoise. Darker stones from Morenci and Bisbee mines (and yours might be this, but an expert needs to determine this) are extremely desirable.

You may want to have a jewelry work on the band here, which has a decided kink. Maybe it caught on something and got pulled out of shape. The jeweler could also see if the band was compromised and needed to be built up to make it wear longer and feel more comfortable on your finger.

Hi Saef,

Thanks for your reply, I also thought about Morenci, but still not sure. I don’t think I can find someone in the Netherlands with enough knowlegde about turquoise mines in the Southwest, but it is still beautiful.