Help with Squash Blossom?

Hello,
I’m hoping I did this correctly?
I have an old squash blossom that I am trying to get any info on.
I’ve added pictures that I hope came out.
(This is my first time here)
This necklace has been passed down to me and I have studied it looking for a “hallmark?” But I find nothing.
I read that if magnets stick to it then it’s not silver.
Well they don’t so I suspect it is silver.
Can anyone help?
Thank you in advance for your time.

12 Likes

I would google petit point squash blossom necklace and look for similarities between the one you own and the ones pictured. If you notice on your necklace that the tear drop shaped turquoise cabochons in the blossoms are set with the pointed end inward until they get to fluted part and then they are set outward with silver drops applied to the ends.The twisted wire around the center cabochons is a little thick and a little sloppy. The turquoise looks good in that there’s variation in color and matrix so not block and probably not stabilized. Looks like silver, may not be sterling. Bench beads look good - not brand spankin new. Sometimes turquoise is backed with a metal that will stick to a magnet even though the majority of the necklace is constructed of silver. Overall a nice looking necklace.

This one looks similar to yours - eBay item number:254871195042

It is a very nice Zuni squash blossom necklace. You are going to have a hard time getting a name of the artist. It is an authentic piece and a very good collectible. Enjoy wearing it.

2 Likes

This is nice! Magnets don’t stick to lots of metals including cupro nickel and nickel. No reason to think this isn’t silver.