I need some advice, please

If anyone knows a reputable site for ID on older Native rugs, I’d really appreciate some help. One is tagged Mae Begay, but these are not in my area of knowledge. I know that she has disappeared and likely suffered a terrible fate. These were bought in the 1960’s “out west”. Would Perry Null be a source of info? Maybe Jason could comment.

2 Likes

Could you take a photo of the entire rugs? That would help with ID.

1 Like

This is the best I can do right now. The Yei rug has the Navajo tag.

1 Like

4 Likes

Wow, that’s a lot of rugs. The ones with fringe completely across the bottom I assume are Mexican. From what I can see, the rest appear to be Navajo. You could also try calling Garland’s Navajo Rugs in Sedona, AZ. I can’t see them completely, but they look legit, however there appears to be some wear, so that would bring down the value.

Here’s a link…

I am not a rug expert by any means, but from the little bits I can see at least one looks to be a Yei rug, another possibly Storm Pattern, and another maybe a Two Grey Hills (not sure at all on that one, but just wondering). But I can’t see enough of them to say for sure. Does the tag have a store name on the back of it?

Edit: I just reread and saw that you know you have a Yei rug, and that the tag is on that. It was asking, because sometimes rugs sold in certain areas of the rez will give you a clue as to what type of rug it is.

5 Likes

I’m not saying there’s no value when they have wear; my mom had a nice Yei rug that she had on the floor for literally decades. Not only did it have wear from that, but our German Shepherd chewed up one of the ends :flushed:. We still sold it at auction here in IN (where you wouldn’t get as good of a price, people here aren’t very familiar with them) for several hundred dollars.

2 Likes

Thank you! I’ll check out the Garlands site.

1 Like