Kingman or maybe SB?

I bought this back in '93 at the Hopi House at GC in their small pawn room (I believe Jeff Ogg of Ogg’s Hogan was still the buyer back then according to a video interview I saw). No hallmark (except a sterling stamp) on it, and it’s pretty heavy silver which is nice. I was drawn to the slightly modern look, and the way the stone is somewhat off center. I always assumed it was Kingman, because it seems like most everything is Kingman, but is it possible this is Sleeping Beauty turquoise? There is a tiny bit of pyrite in the matrix. Just curious.

I’m hoping to stop at Hopi House when we’re out there in April, so I started wondering again about this cuff.

14 Likes

Yes, I would call that Sleeeping Beauty. Dan Jackson would make some beautiful pieces in this style, but his work would most likely be hallmarked.

5 Likes

Thanks, Jason. I never really considered Sleeping Beauty until I started learning more about it on this site. It does have a look similar to that piece, but it is definitely not hallmarked.

1 Like

@Ziacat This looks like Sleeping Beauty turquoise. Super nice cuff.

3 Likes

@Ziacat So beautiful. Lucky find! When I was at Hopi House in 2022 it didn’t have an old pawn section; you’ll have to update with a report.

3 Likes

Thanks! I haven’t even been wearing it lately; I just pulled it out again.