Question for the Rockhounds

One of my estate finds, so I know nothing about it except what I see.
The stone is fabulous! I’m thinking some sort of Jasper, but I’m no expert, so would appreciate your thoughts. The Ring has an interesting mark as well. Next to the 925 it’s marked Obsidian. I don’t know what to make of that having never seen it before and I find nothing online to match it.
Thoughts? Thanks in Advance!
Becky

1 Like

First thing that occurred to me was that it was a shop hallmark: just as we wouldn’t find a ring stamped (hallmarked) Turquoise on the shank, it seemed unlikely to be about the set stone. So: Google informs me that there’s a jewelry company called Obsidian that specializes in setting unusual stones, and perhaps there have been other companies with that name.

5 Likes

Wow! Thanks so much for the link! I never saw that…probably because the word obsidian brought up so many results. Looks like they use all kinds of stones. I did see one photo with a bunch of different jaspers, but I haven’t found any jasper that looks like this one.
I appreciate your help!
Becky

2 Likes

It’s a beautiful stone. I had a ring once with a very similar stone, and I do think it was some kind of jasper. But for the life of me, I can’t remember what it was, and the stone fell out and I lost it.

1 Like

I did see one similar stone in their gallery, but it was with a group of a bunch of different stones and not identified. I’m thinking it might be picture jasper, but an unusual one.
Becky

1 Like

Oh, so sad to lose a favorite! I had one pair of earrings that I truly loved and lost one of them gardening. Never found anything I loved as much!
Becky

2 Likes

It even was in a setting like yours, but different artist, Charles Albert I think. Bought it in Northern MI. I’ll have to see if I still have the receipt somewhere that says what it was.

1 Like

Oh, that would be super helpful, but please don’t put yourself out if it’s not easy to find.
I appreciate you!
Becky