Seeking advice, professional opinion, recommended appraiser

Hello all. I am in search of some advice. I inherited. 300 - 400 maybe 500 cut stones and some torquoise rock from my father about 8 years ago. He lived in New Mexico. He was a stone cutter and silversmith. Unfortunatly my knowledge is limited on grading/valuing them. I am finally getting around to doing something with some of his stuff although on the stones I don’t know how best to determine value. My father mentioned prior to his passing that he had some torquoise that was valuable that he had acquired many years ago. I am not a jeweler/silversmith therefore I have no need for the stones. I posted some pictures for viewing. Thank you very much for any advice / direction you may have.God Bless

20191010_104126-1

10 Likes

Wow that is a lot of stones. I am no professional but you appear to have not only Turquoise but Lapis,
Malachite and what looks like Larimar and probably others I do not recognize. Very nice!

5 Likes

That is crazy!!! I would get in the bathtub and bury myself in them!!! :rofl:
Sorry I’m not more help. Take your time and figure out what you’ve got. They’re valuable.

7 Likes

Hah! Hadn’t thought of the bathtub thing. Anyway, as you-all can see I have some stones that I need to do something with. I have recently semi-retired and have a little more time, not much but a little, to figure out what the heck to do with some of the things. Additionally, I have some raw rock and many tools all sitting in a storage unit in NM that I have been paying on for many years now. I had originally thought I might get into some part of the silversmithing/artisan thing just never has panned out. I appreciate any advice on possible getting opinions or possibly a reputable person for an appraisal. I will be going back to New Mexico soon and would like to do something at that time. Cheers, thanks again and God Bless.

3 Likes