Should I be concerned about these green spots on the back?

I just got this bolo as my first turquoise piece and noticed these green bits on the clip. Will it cause damage to the silver? What cleaner should I use?

5 Likes

The green is verdigris formed by the oxidation of copper. The clip is likely nickel plated copper. Moisture, sweating, and chemicals cause the copper to leach and oxidize. You can just use soap and water to clean it off.

5 Likes

@Devivi Welcome. Nice silverwork on your bolo. I’m not an expert & can only provide my own jewelry experiences. I personally don’t use cleaners on jewelry, especially turquoise. I’d use a soft bristle toothbrush to remove the green spots. Then a soft cloth to wipe away any residue. Hopefully, more knowledge members can provide input to your questions.

3 Likes

But don’t let the soap and water get on the stones! It could cause them to become loose (traditional Native work often uses sawdust under the stone to cushion it, the water can get in and cause it to flatten, make the stone loose, and it can fall out).

1 Like

@Ziacat @Devivi Oh, I didn’t mean to imply any use of soap & water with the toothbrush. A dry brushing only. Should I edit my comment?

You didn’t, @StevesTrail did for the back (not the stones). :grin:

1 Like

@Ziacat Thank you. I did not see his post.

Good clarification @Ziacat . Soap & water on the back only. Or a dry toothbrush mentioned by @Patina .

2 Likes

I really like your bolo tie. The corkscrew design on the right is a great touch. Nice turquoise.

1 Like