Stone I.D. - Is this turquoise?

I bought this ring online in September. It was described as turquoise (not identified). I was really drawn to the unique stone but thought it could possibly be a man-made product. (Only one other time have I come across a stone just like this mounted in a jewelry setting.) There are no hallmarks. Do y’all think this stone is turquoise? Appreciate your input. (The swirls are a creamy color, not stark white.)

1 Like

IMHO it looks like plastique, but I’m no expert.

2 Likes

Hmm, never seen it. It does look man-made.

2 Likes

IN the 1980’s I purchased some rough, unstabalized, Sleeping Beauty Turquoise from Thunderbird Supply in Gallup, NM.
Most of it had a creamish substance in it.

Agree that most of the time white/cream in Turquoise indicates dyed Howlite or some other dyed stone.

Can you try wiping a small area on the edge with acetone or fingernail polish remover? If the dye is older, some of it will come off.

2 Likes

@fernwood , your post made me look at a closeup of the stone. I thought the stone itself looked good as well as the setting, but that creamy swirl? In retrospect I see what appears to possibly be a crack running down the center of the cream colored areas. Could the stone be leaching a stabilization material possibly from being in contact with a solvent that dissolved it? Your thoughts?

1 Like

@fernwood That you’ve seen rough turquoise with a creamy substance in it gives me a bit of hope. I’m a little scared to do the acetone test since I’ve never done that before. Will let you know results if I do it.

1 Like

@StevesTrail @fernwood Just looked at the stone using a magnifying glass & flashlight. There’s no crack anywhere in the stone. I’m baffled by those creamy swirls, and that some of the black spots have a matrix-like texture. The stone is cold to the touch. (Wondering if it’s a glass product??)

2 Likes

Maybe it’s chrysocholla.

4 Likes