Turquoise ID Question

Newbie here and Happy Holidays. Have a question which i ask with respect. I see posts with turquoise mine IDs. My understanding from decades of collecting( more like half a century) is that the only way to truly identify turquoise is to be there when it was pulled out (if not the miner). Even attribution by the smith who worked the stone is hearsay. One mine can gave multiple veins that look nothing like each other and very similar veins can come out off totally unrelated mines.

The only piece I own that I would attribute to a specific mine is a Cerrillos buckle and legally that would be hearsay too but i know who made it, it’s been identified his family members and I know the silversmith mined Cerrillos for himself. (And it’s screamingly green lol).

So, please share and explain to me why I’m wrong. I keep thinking about the MANY Landers I’ve been offered recently from various people LOL.

3 Likes

I don’t believe you are completely wrong, probably mostly right. However, I have pieces that the artist I bought them from was sure which mine (and wrote it down), so I would call that legit. I have also had traders (at very legitimate stores/trading posts) who were extremely knowledgeable tell me where they thought a stone was from, and it makes me happy to know where my turquoise possibly came from.

For example, I had a very dark navy colored stone with green, pyrite, and brown in it, that has been verified as from Nevada. Jason was able to give great insight on where the stone MIGHT be from. Of course I know that’s not 100%, but it’s very interesting.