Two Vintage Necklaces, So Many Questions!

I just recently received these two vintage necklaces and have so many questions now. I tend to love vintage, go figure, my grandfather was an antique dealer, and I love both of these pieces. The shadow box piece has something that looks like something was spilled onto some of the turquoise beads that was either black or caused the beads to turn black (I’ve tried to capture some of this in one or two of the pics). Any idea if I might be able to remove any of that and if so, how would I go about doing so? The hallmark looks like an adjoined VAL. I’m still learning how to use my Bille Hougart book, but I’ve not had luck finding this hallmark. Am I missing it or can anyone identify it? Last questions on this one would be what decade do you think this would be from or approximate age and approximate estimated value?

Second necklace I have pretty much the same questions. I’ve turned and turned looking at this hallmark in all different directions. Is it a P, an R, a tool? Then I finally thought it looked a bit like the bell trading post hall mark, so looked at shop hallmarks, still have not been able to figure it out! Can anyone identify this hallmark? Would also love to have an idea of about age of this and an estimated value would be great.

3 Likes

It is possible that something like liver of sulphur was used to darken the Shadowbox. There are several ways to darken silver and that is one of the most commonly used. The dark area is common and expected on this type.

1 Like

Someone is selling a close cousin to one of yours, the one with the VA, as being by Vidal Aragon, a beloved Pueblo artist. His hallmark does have a conjoined V and A but I’m not sure I’ve seen it with an additional “foot” or extra stroke in it. He was famous for his overlay work with stamping, and did do set stones, so it’s persuasive.