ID gem turquoise mine and maker please

I’d appreciate any information on this beautiful ring, thank you.

5 Likes

Beautiful ring with really nice spiderweb Turquoise. Did not find the hallmark on the ring, but I would definitely research that more. The ones with similar F P hallmarks includes some prestigious makers.
I can’t identify the Turquoise per se, but I think it may actually be American. If it’s Chinese, it’s high-grade.
It would definitely be a keeper in my book.

2 Likes

Nice ring, love the turquoise! Like @Islandmomma, I’m frustrated with the hallmark. Without the W. I’d swear it was Fred Peshlakai’s! He used a lot of Lone Mountain turquoise, which this could be(?). I’m no expert, I’m just expressing my thoughts. Hope you can find the artist, it’s a wonderful ring!

3 Likes

That was the name that I was thinking also but didn’t want to say without knowing. The turquoise is wonderful. Maybe that hallmark will show up in an older book or article somewhere.

3 Likes

So, It seems like this is a Fred Peshlakai piece! A cuff with the same hallmark was posted in the “Historic Navajo Jewelry” Facebook group. It has been identified as Fred Peshlakai’s work by Steven Curtis who just published a book on the subject!

4 Likes

How interesting! (The book came out several years ago, btw.) Are you able to screencap and post the hallmark shown on FB?

3 Likes

@chicfarmer I think most private groups kinda frown on that. I’ll grab one of the small pics from the post. I grabbed two!

Screenshot 2024-04-27 175420

7 Likes

what was Fred Peshlakai’s middle name according to Steven Curtis?

5 Likes

Probably taking a bit more liberty than I should, hopefully Steven Curtis won’t mind as it’s for educational purposes!

4 Likes