Turquoise bracelet with tear-shaped stone

I welcome your thoughts on this bracelet. It’s supposed to be turquoise, tested as sterling. Seller does not know who made it.

Do you think this is genuine turquoise? If so, any ideas as to the type?

And do you think it might possibly be NA? I suspect it isn’t (and the seller makes no claim either way), but I’m still a newbie in these matters.

Lastly, I think it’s unmarked, but there’s a thin squiggle on the back that, with effort, could be interpreted as an M or maybe a W. Although I suspect it’s probably just a scratch!

4 Likes

I don’t think it’s NA, I do think it’s turquoise. Asian import.

5 Likes

I think we look first to the construction of the piece. Most of the time when we think import we think of the piece maybe being manufactured/cast. This bracelet appears to be handmade. You have a fancy bezel that is supply store purchased, bead wire along the edges, three silver drops, and a small flat wire for the shank. All of that indicates that it is handmade to me. Also, that stone looks to be a real piece of turquoise. Whether it is Native American made would remain a mystery without some identifying mark, but the style appears to be Navajo.

8 Likes

@Jason can you speak to that bezel, and the odd shape of the drops? I just don’t see Native here.

4 Likes

Before reading the replies, I was going to point to the bezel as a reason this bracelet is likely not NA made. I don’t know for sure, and definitely no artist is confined to any specific style because of their heritage or tribal affiliation, but I don’t see this bezel as typical for NA work. Maybe it was a NA artist experimenting with supply store components or different looks. I think it’s a pretty peice of turquoise. That M mark looks kind of intentionally placed for me, but it could be an owner’s initials, not necessarily a makers mark.

5 Likes