Talking about chip inlay: If you're thinking of buying a piece

Here’s a thread specifically about chip inlay.

I’m not an expert, but I am a collector who has focused on a particular artist and on a particular object, the cuff bracelet. I own 67 cuffs in the chip inlay style made by Delvin J. Nelson, a Navajo artist. While amassing this collection, I’ve looked at a lot of chip inlay. I’m passing along some notes about chip inlay, based on my experience.

[url=https://imgur.com/IaO1tjA][/url]

Personally, I love the chip inlay designs that make me think of pottery or textiles, and that also incorporate stampwork. But I have seen beautiful work by artists who create pen sketches in scored silver, and juxtapose them with filled-in patches of inlay. One motif you see often in chip inlay is the peyote bird. The great spread-winged renderings of peyote birds or thunderbirds are one of the glories of chip inlay.

If you’re thinking of buying a chip inlay piece.

1. Don’t listen to dealers who tell you that a chip inlay piece is really, really old, and that therefore, its antiquity means you have to compromise on condition. Chip inlay is only as old as epoxy resin. The Navajo artist Tommy Singer invented it during the 1960s. This could also mean your seller may not be very knowledgeable about chip inlay. They are also probably wrong if they call these pieces Zuni, perhaps because they are equating all inlay with Zuni artists. Most I’ve run across seem to be Navajo-made, though I think some Hopi artists may have worked in chip inlay.